25: Enjoying Life

25-enjoying-life-2

two drawings.

25-enjoying-life

One to follow a train of thought that 20: Good Boy inspired.
(The bird was just to warm up. Hence I didn’t erase the pencil lines)
The second one was to enjoy the contrast between the furry bumblebee and the mole (?) in thin lines. Somehow the bumblebee didn’t turn out as rugged as the wolf in 20: Good Boy did. And the mole didn’t get the thin, airy lines I envisioned. Slip of the brush, that. I refilled the brush in a part of the inkwell that had no ink and then didn’t pay attention at pressure when inking.

I did explore the freedom of giving the animals just sticks for limbs. Trying hard not to care too much. To allow myself.

And I tried my hand at colouring with aquarel. I enjoy it more than mumbling in Photoshop. On purpose I used very cheap paint and a brush I probably bought when I was at high school (that would be somewhere in the last century). I work better with cheap materials, it relieves the duty to make it the most beautiful. (black line brushes are exception though. And paper. In those inferior material won’t bring freedom, only frustration)(Oh. I will get frustrated when these paints turn out no to be light fast. Hm. Guess these are internet illustrations after all.)

I enjoy the more accidental bush strokes I used in the colouring. With that cheap brush and unreliable paint (and an untrained hand) I just didn’t bother trying to colour within the lines. As I do with Photoshop.
But I enjoy it only in colouring. In the black lines I don’t enjoy not having absolute control as much…

Also I’m not drawing every day, as you have notices. I now draw when I want to, when I enjoy it. I find I enjoy my ideas for drawing more that way and I no longer feel the pressure of having to perform. These weeks I’m into a Sleep Restriction Therapy program and my daily to-do list was sucking the joy out of my days.
I’ll be cautious this more relaxed attitude doesn’t slip into not drawing at all.

I’ve found that when I start off by looking at drawings I enjoy or illustrators I admire, I easily get in the mood to draw. So for now I’m not worried I’ll loose the motivation to draw.

Two ideas for next month:
1. practise more with each individual drawing. Make several versions of the same drawing. After I finish one I often see things I’d like to do different. I want to explore that. Also: do a warm up.
2. study existing illustrations and copy them. (copy them in my own style, not in the style of the illustrator) (as if I’ve already got my own style! Ha!)
By doing this I get to explore their subjects, their lines, their treatment of space. Chun eun-sil is an artist that really opens my eyes in those respects.

Update: I’ve been just informed that I indeed already have a personal style shining true. I do not see it myself. I see i draw the same as I did when I was 12 years old. I have not developed since then.
However, I know my own eyes and brain ofte see not wjat others see. So I’m just tinkering on, trying to postphone final (e)valuation or justification my my style untill I’ve drawn a year or something. Untill then: keep playing. Keep going when my whim takes me,
Like the 12 year old I’m aparently am.

3 thoughts on “25: Enjoying Life

  1. Yup, you have your own style. The bumblebee is very “you”. For some reason other people see your personal handwriting sooner as you do yourself (if one ever sees it for oneself). I remember from my artistic years that I could recognize the maker by his/her work. And I don’t mean picasso, but my friends…..

leave a reply

