12: big and bad

12-big-bad

All alone in the woods, are you?

How I made 12: big and bad
pencil studies in my owl sketch book
then final pencil sketch
inked it, using my favourite brush. I enjoyed inking it, making expressive lines (not talking about the bark, that was an afterthought. Talking about the lines of the wolf and the foliage)
erased lines
scanned it
poked at it with Photoshop, using low saturation levels for the colours which gave me the more friendly colouring I was after. Also, at first B/W stage I selected the white and cleared that instead of the black. This left better lines than the other way around.

I enjoyed this. I did the pencil studies in the morning, found the basic shapes then. Thought up the basic idea during the night which was also a good thing.

leave a reply

